Flower Barrette

This is a barrette I made using DMC Perle’ 8 cotton thread and a size 1.25 mm crochet hook. I just got a new Clover Soft Touch crochet hook and it works nicely.

Here’s what I did.
First I made a strip of double crochet the size of the top of a barrette clip. I got a package of these French barrette findings from Rio Grande, via mail.

Then I crocheted a bunch of flowers. These are from the book Crochet Inspiration by Sasha Kagan, the “forget me not” flower.

I didn’t bother to weave in the ends of the threads, saving them to use to sew the flowers on to the double crochet strip. First I sewed the center of the flower, leaving the other threads hanging out so I could use them later.

I used the ends to sew the petals to the background, and then trimmed the excess.

After I added all of the flowers to the background I spray starched them and ironed lightly with a pressing cloth between the crochet and the iron.

Using my go-to glue, epoxy, I glued the crochet strip to the barrette finding. This was a little tricky, I had to hold it together for awhile until the glue started to get tacky, then press down on any areas that weren’t making contact with the backing. After it looked straight I let it dry.

If you tried making this you could use any flower pattern you like. Adding larger flowers would have a different and very pretty effect.

© Kathy Kelly 2011

This entry was posted in crochet projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

