Becoming a volunteer pattern tester

Recently I have been working on a Tunisian moss stitch scarf that I am pattern testing for Marie Segares. She also has a blog, the Underground Crafter.

I was delighted to find out that it’s really easy to become a volunteer pattern tester. If you are a member of Ravelry there are several groups devoted to matching up crochet and knit designers with pattern testers. You need to agree to the designer’s terms and complete the project in the specified time frame. Also, you will need to supply your own yarn for the project. In return you get a copy of the pattern, and when the pattern is released you get a copy of the final version of the pattern. Usually you get access to the designer to ask questions about the pattern.

The cool thing about pattern testing is that it is a different way to use your crochet skills. The designer appreciates feedback about how the pattern is written and you get the chance to try a new project before it is available to the general public. (If the pattern will be available for sale you get it free).

I’ve done several pattern tests and it can be a mixed bag. The finished project may be something you love, or not, but the process is stimulating. It gives you a chance to think about what you are creating from the standpoint of the written instructions. If you are interested in designing your own patterns it’s also interesting to see how other designers notate their patterns.

A closer view of the moss stitch pattern,

Here are some projects I’ve created while pattern testing..

This is a shawl pattern called Hobobird by Anastacia Zittel

This is a scarf pattern also by Anastacia Zittel called Lovely Lisa Scarf

This pattern is called Moebius Cowl by Laura Cracknell.

Somewhere in Chicago……

eggplant on the vine

© Kathy Kelly 2011

 

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Becoming a volunteer pattern tester

  1. Thanks for sharing your experiences with being a pattern tester. I love your work and it is great to have such a talented needlecrafter helping me out.

  2. Really interesting information about the benefits of being a pattern tester. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Link Love for Crochet Blogs | Crochet Concupiscence

  4. Anastacia says:

    Look at that, you showed off the stuff you did for me🙂 What a pleasant surprise, & thank you for sharing!

  5. Heather Forgey says:

    I would be so good that that! I’m such a perfectionist it’s outrageous (I use crochet as my outlet for this trait), and my attention to detail is just as bad. I’ve torn apart days worth of work just because I didn’t like something small about how it was coming together, and thought of a way I might fix it! Lol
    For some reason, I never knew there was such a thing as a pattern tester, but I would probably really enjoy that! I will need to look into that; thank you!🙂

  6. Lori Harmon says:

    I would be interested in testing crochet patterns! loriharmon@live.com is my email – I have been crocheting for 35 years!

Leave a Reply

