Does this thing work? And what is it?

I first saw one of these lazy susans for yarn at the Sow’s Ear in Madison Wisconsin, where a customer was knitting away with her yarn on this nifty little rotating spike. At the time I thought it was cool, but not necessary.

After working with laceweight yarn, which is delicate and difficult to unspool without the whole ball ending up on the floor in a pile of cat hair, I decided this thing might be useful.

I had never seen one of these available in a store and wondered if they actually work. At YarnCon Chicago I ran into Jeanette from Sun Valley Fibers in Mount Horeb Wisconsin. She had a whole bunch of them that her husband made, calling them a Yarn Buddy. They were so beautiful I had to buy one, and I would not be writing this post if it didn’t turn out that it is one of the handiest tools I own. It’s heavy enough that it won’t fall off the table if you yank on the yarn a little. To my surprise it works with yarn that is sold in balls, such as Noro and Bernat Mosaic, as well as those “cakes” that the yarn stores wind your yarn into.

If you bring a yarn buddy along to a crochet get together everyone will ooh and aah at what a yarn geek you are. At least that’s been my experience.

Here’s a photo of my yarn buddy with my star stitch scarf, still in process. The yarn is Bernat Mosaic which comes in a floppy ball, perfect for the yarn buddy.

And here’s a photo of my yarn buddy holding a cake of Three Irish Girls sock yarn.

In summary- the Yarn Buddy made by Sun Valley Fibers

  • aesthetically pleasing
  • hand made in the U.S.A.
  • functional

Worth the money? You bet.

© Kathy Kelly 2011

This entry was posted in crochet-geek stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Does this thing work? And what is it?

  1. Kathy,
    Thank you so much for the great recommendation! George is busily making more to re-stock the store — they are suddenly in short supply!!! :o)

Leave a Reply

