More Pattern Testing

Recently I spent some time pattern testing. As I have written in a previous post there are many reasons to become a pattern tester. I find that pattern testing helps me sharpen my skills as a crocheter. It is also a good way to meet other crochet designers and get some insight into how different people approach pattern design.

The photo above is a pattern I tested for Anastasia Roberts called Isis. It’s a beautiful semicircular shawl worked in sock yarn, I used Malabrigo sock yarn in the color Persia. You can see technical details about this project on my Ravelry project page.  It fits a bit like a cape and I’ve gotten quite a few compliments on it. Anastasia is offering the pattern for free on Ravelry. You can get the pattern here.

Above you can see my cat McDuff trying out a Tunisian crochet cat blanket I tested for Marie Segares. This is the second time I have tested a pattern for Marie and she’s a great designer to work with. This time I was testing for an e-book she has written called  30 Purrfect Stitches for Pet Blankets. The profits from the book benefit Bideawee “an animal welfare organization established in 1903. Bideawee’s services and programs include operating “no-kill” animal shelters in New York City and Long Island.”

The book has instructions for 20 regular crochet stitches and also 10 Tunisian crochet stitches. You can use the stitches to make custom blankets to donate to a shelter or for your own use. As well as instructions for the stitches Marie gives you a handy chart for each stitch to help calculate the number of base chains needed to achieve the desired size. There are also tips for making animal-safe blankets and for finding organizations to donate blankets to.

Marie has included photos of each stitch as well as a photo tutorial for one of the more complex stitches.

I decided to do a patchwork style blanket but another option would be to use a single stitch to create the blanket. Since I had squares that were different sizes I improvised a few regular crochet rectangles to fill in the gaps and then edged the whole thing. Here’s the finished result. You can see technical details on my Ravelry project page. One thing I like about doing this project in Tunisian crochet is that it creates a very dense fabric, great for a comfy cat perch. And it does have the McDuff seal of approval.

Above is the finished project.
And close-up photos of a few of the stitch patterns.

The testing continues, more on this subject in my next post.

Earlier this summer, somewhere in Chicago…

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More Pattern Testing

  1. Thanks for your kind words. I feel honored to be associated with anything that has the McDuff seal of approval, since I know how difficult cat seals of approval are to obtain🙂.

  2. robinbrz says:

    Love both of your projects! I’m looking for shawl/wraps to make for holiday gifts and this one is a beauty. The kitty blanket is great, I’ve been following Marie’s progress with her book. I love the variety in the stitches it just looks awesome!

  3. Najma says:

    all your projects are really nice! I love the shawl, is really beautiful
    unfortunatelly the pattern is no available anywhere😦 , a pity, because I’d like to crochet it
    have a nice day

    • vibeskat says:

      I’m not sure which shawl you are referring to that isn’t available. If you can give me the name of the shawl I can see if I can help you find the pattern.

  4. Pascale says:

    Hello Katty,
    following links from Ravelry, I found your blog. I discover a nice place to visit by the way, I will come back ! Pet blankets😉 + a nice project
    I would like very much to crochet this Isis shawl but no way to get the free pattern and no way to join the creator of it. I made all kind of research but I am a desperate crocheter by now …
    Could you, please, help a poor French crochet addict ?
    Merci beaucoup
    Pascalelamb@gmail.com

    • vibeskat says:

      I’m glad you found my blog.

      I’m sorry I noticed that this pattern doesn’t seem to be available on Ravelry anymore. I see that people have flagged this as missing the pattern download so I hope that the pattern will be available again in the future. Other than that I don’t have any more info. on it. If I find anything more I will report back.

Leave a Reply

