Ravellenic Games

Ok, so you may ask what ARE the Ravellenic Games? It’s a little project put on by the networking site Ravelry. The idea is to pick some crochet or knit projects to challenge yourself and work on them during the Olympics. They have made up whimsical names for the categories you can “compete” in, but really you’re only competing against yourself. If you finish by the end of the Olympics you can count yourself as a winner.

I have picked a few projects to work on during the Ravellenic Games, which concludes on August 12,2012.

For the event modular relay I am planning to make at least 6 flower motifs for a project that has been in limbo for quite some time. The photo above shows 3 of the motifs I’ve completed. Technical info. can be found on my Ravelry project page. The instructions to make this motif are in an earlier blog post. You can find the instructions here.

My main project is a cabled hat with very detailed instructions, entered in the event WIP Wrestling.  I can’t really work on anything else while I’m crocheting it, can’t even listen to the radio! Set aside months ago, this seemed like the perfect opportunity to give myself a deadline to finish it once and for all.

I complicated the project by using a medium colored yarn, which makes it harder to see the stitches. The pattern is Honeysuckle Hat by Aparna Rolfe published in the Fall 2011 edition of Interweave Crochet magazine.

Hats off to Aparna for her excellent instructions.

And lastly I am “competing” in the Frogging Trampoline. For this event I will unravel a shawl I started when I first returned to crocheting. The yarn I chose for this pattern was not a good match for the pattern and it has been sitting in my yarn room for I don’t know how long. I’m thinking this yarn would make a nice scarf.

There are also teams which are more like the teams for intramural sports. People are encouraged to form their own teams and they’re not necessarily representing a certain geographic area. However, I’m on Team Windy Knitty hosted by one of my favorite local yarn stores Windy Knitty.

That’s about it for the Olympic movement.

Somewhere in Chicago, a native plant blooms.

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ravellenic Games

  1. Congratulations on your Ravellenic projects. Those motifs are gorgeous and the hat is amazing.

Leave a Reply

