Hey Cat

DSCF5368

I’ve been busy teaching crochet and playing new and interesting music.

If you’ve been busy at this time of year you might be interested in a pattern for a quick little project you can complete in an evening. This is a free pattern offered on Ravelry called Hey Cat by Patricia Eggen. I did this little cat motif in sport weight yarn with size 10 crochet cotton for the bow. You could use this as an appliqué but I decided to just sew a small safety pin on the back. I wear it when I want a little silliness in my life. Here’s the link to my project page on Ravelry if you’d like more technical details.

DSCF5419

Above is a little bag I made to demonstrate what you can do with the African Flower Motif. For the written out pattern for the motif see my earlier blog post on the African Flower Hexagon.

DSCF5425

Still in bloom in Chicago, 12/11/2012.

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hey Cat

  1. knotrune says:

    Thanks for the idea of how to use the African flowers. I made several for a slightly larger bag, but never finished them. I think I may have enough to make a bag this size!🙂

  2. Love the African flower bag. What joining method do you use to join the flowers?

    • vibeskat says:

      Thanks for the positive feedback. I just use whip stitch to join the flowers. I’ve found that placing the right sides together and going through the loop closest and the loop farthest from me seems to make a good stitch that doesn’t show too much. There are many ways to join but that’s usually how I do it.
      As far as the bag construction goes you can join 4 motifs side by side so that you have a tube, join 2 motifs side by side and then use the 2 motifs as your bottom. It makes more sense when you have the motifs in front of you to look at.

Leave a Reply

