A tale of two hooks

DSCF5812

I have been curious about how the new Amour Crochet Hooks (blue handle above) compare swith the Soft Touch Crochet hooks (brown handle), both made by Clover. H hooks (5.0 mm) shown above.

I’m a fan of both of these hooks. The thing I like the most about them is that the shank of the hook is even and fairly long. They’re great for doing stitches that require you to have many loops on the hook, treble crochet, puff stitches etc. It’s easy to keep the loops on your hook the same size. The Soft Touch may be better for the puff stitches because it has less taper before reaching the even part of the shank than the Amour.

On first examination the metal part of the hooks look pretty much the same, but they’re not. The Soft Touch hooks (below left) continue straight up from the handle all the way to the tip, while the Amour hooks (below right) bend forward a little near the hook part.

DSCF5814

The Amour hooks may be slightly narrower in width on the actual hook portion, and have a deeper cut in the throat of the hook. I hooks (5.5 mm) shown above.

The metal of the Soft Touch hooks have a little grip on the yarn, with the Amour hooks feeling slightly more polished. This is such a slight difference that running my hand over the hooks I can’t really feel it. But when I’ve worked lace weight yarn with both hooks I noticed that the Soft Touch grips a little better. The Amour would be great for sticky yarn such as Noro Kureyon.

DSCF5811

Another difference is that the handle of the Amour hook is slightly longer and feels a little rubbery. The handle of the Soft Touch is firmer and flattened.

On shawls, using a large hook and lace weight yarn, these both do a great job. The head of both hooks are very smooth and work easily into the stitches. On worsted weight wool these also perform well. Right now I think I have a slight preference for the Amour hooks but for certain projects, such as ones with tall stitches or slippery yarn, I’d probably pick the Soft Touch hook. I’d choose the Amour hook when working a tight gauge because it slips more easily into the stitches.

I hope I haven’t bored you with all the technical details. I encourage you to try these hooks.

And just to follow up to my Why Red post…

DSCF5806

Another project in beautiful red yarn. This is a special edition color “Glogg” dyed by Fleur de Fiber in Chicago. Here’s a link to Fleur de Fiber’s Ravelry group.

The shawl pattern is a beautiful one called Hanataba by Joyce (YuLian) Yu. You can purchase the pattern online from Joyce’s Ravelry shop. For more technical details on this project visit my Ravelry project page. I used a Clover Soft Touch H hook for this project.

This entry was posted in crochet-geek stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A tale of two hooks

  1. Elaine says:

    I love the Soft Touch hooks. i held the Amour and found it wasn’t as comfortable for me. i haven’t looked back since using the soft touch. Great comparison!

    • vibeskat says:

      Thanks. It’s interesting how most people have a favorite brand of hook. We’re lucky to have so many to choose from. I find myself changing brands depending on the kind of yarn I’m using and the type of project I’m making.

  2. crochetime says:

    Great post. I only use Soft Touch. So much so that the gold coloured coating of my 4mm hook have worn off! I think I will stick to Soft Touch for my replacement 4mm

  3. Helen says:

    Really interesting post- I have a set of the soft touch but was eyeing up the amours as I’d like a handle which is a bit more ‘cushiony’- I did try the KnitPro ones but they were much firmer than they appeared.

  4. Bec I am says:

    Thanks for the post, I was wondering what/if any the difference was and would it be worth me changing.

Leave a Reply

