I must be in the right place

DSCF5916

When I arrived at Ragdale, my car stuffed with my vibes and all of the tools of my trade, I saw these beautiful carved sheep on the front lawn and thought “I must be in the right place”. I was awarded a 3Arts Fellowship for jazz composition and recently spent 2 weeks composing at Ragdale in Lake Forest Illinois.

My time at Ragdale allowed me to work on composition, walk the beautiful prairie that adjoins the grounds, and meet some fantastic artists and writers.

I even found a little time to crochet when my work was done for the day.

DSCF5933

The pattern for this shawl is Hanataba, available as a download on Ravelry. I like the colors on this but with fingering weight yarn the pattern shape isn’t as nice as it is when done with lace weight yarn. I had to struggle to block it into a circular shawl shape. The yarn is made by Sun Valley Fibers and the gold yarn has sparkles in it. You can find more technical details on my Ravelry project page.

For fun I improvised a cover for my iPad. I used a double ended Tunisian crochet hook and worked this in the round. Nothing too earth shattering but it kept me out of trouble. You can find technical details on my Ravelry project page.

DSCF5988

My room in the Friends Studio at Ragdale. My neighbor Aviva and I became great friends, so the name is fitting.

DSCF5944

I did manage to write 2 jazz pieces during my stay at Ragdale.

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I must be in the right place

  1. mng says:

    Congratulations on your Fellowship, your 2 new jazz pieces and your 2 new crochet pieces!

  2. What a beautiful place! And your shawl looks lovely. 🙂
    Someday I would like to hear your music…. Jazz is a favorite of mine!

  3. Marta says:

    What a beautiful place, Kathy! WOW- to be able to to write jazz and to crochet during breaks and also to be surrounded by beautiful nature and interesting people!

Leave a Reply

