Going Acrylic

DSCF6339

People who know me know that I love natural fiber yarns, especially wool and alpaca. But sometimes it is necessary to just go acrylic.

Here I have gone with acrylic yarn, one skein of Red Heart Boutique Unforgettable. I made this infinity scarf for my mom, who lives in assisted living. She needs to have something that is washable and this is a really soft yarn. The yarn has good stitch definition but is a little slippery to hook. I found that I had better luck with it when I switched to my Clover Takumi bamboo hook, the bamboo has a bit of grip to make the yarn behave. The pattern is my Lively Infinity Scarf pattern (follow the link to buy through Ravelry). More technical details on my Ravelry project page.

As long as we’re on the topic of Red Heart Boutique yarn, here is a project I did with one skein of Red Heart Boutique Treasure yarn. It’s 70% acrylic and 30% wool, hand wash.

DSCF6223

I love this pattern, it’s a quick project and turns out beautifully. It’s called Artfully Simple Infinity Scarf by Tamara Kelly (no relation that I know of). This pattern is free on her blog.

DSCF6270

As nice as it is to pick up some yarn at a big box store, I always feel so much better buying yarn at my local yarn store. Above is another project made from the Artfully Simple Infinity Scarf pattern, done with one skein of Malabrigo Worsted yarn. It’s 100% merino wool so I get my fiber fix and the good feeling of spending my money at a local business.

DSCF6318

Very cute Mr. Murasaki Owl Amigurumi pattern by Lee Mei Li. The pattern is availableĀ  free here.

This entry was posted in crochet projects, original pattern designs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going Acrylic

  1. Arlene says:

    Please ignore the previous post. Which colorway of the Red Heart Boutique Treasure yarn was used in the Artfully Simple Infinity Scarf above? It looks like “Watercolors” , #1919 but I’m unsure. Thanks so much!

  2. Arlene says:

    Thanks so much! It’s lovely in that colorway! I’ve also seen it worn as a poncho with a decorative button and elastic loop to secure it.

Leave a Reply

