A Passion for Purple

DSCF6582

In February the blues had me turning to purple. Here is one of my favorite purple projects, the Crochet Goodin Cowl by designer Margaret Kendall. When I saw Margaret’s knit Slipped Stitch Goodin Cowl I asked, could this be done in crochet? Well, about a month later Margaret asked me if I wanted to test the crochet version of the cowl. Whoopie! It’s a fun project and it is really nice when a knit designer takes the time to translate her work to crochet. Thanks Margaret for a great pattern! You can find both her knit and crochet patterns for sale at her Ravelry store. Technical details for my cowl can be found on my Ravelry project page.

Another on one of my favorite purple projects is this shawl done in Solomon’s knots.

DSCF6600

A Ravelry friend, EffinEffie, was nice enough to give me this pattern as a gift, and I had the perfect lace weight purple yarn for it in my stash. Unfortunately I think the yarn is discontinued. The pattern, Lavender Path Shawl, is by one of my favorite designers Elena Fedotova who also designed the lovely Porcelain Berry Shawl. Both patterns are available on Elena’s Ravelry store.

I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive about doing a whole shawl out of Solomon’s knots. But the stitch is actually forgiving of small variations in gauge making this an easy project. The resulting shawl is light as a whisper and it will be an ideal cover up in summer air conditioning. For project details see my Ravelry page.

DSCF6594

The purple bug has extended into March and I’ll have some more purple projects finished soon.

DSCF6625

In the meantime I’m swatching some Tunisian crochet lace stitches. If you are planning to attend YarnCon in Chicago on April 5 & 6, 2014, I’ll be teaching Beginning Tunisian Crochet and Introduction to Tunisian Lace Crochet. You can take the beginning class and then continue with the Tunisian Lace class if you like, or take either class alone.

YarnCon is a really fun venue serving as a “market for independent producers of yarn, knitted/crocheted objects, fiber for spinning, tools, gadgets, books, patterns, instructions, and gifts related to spinning, knitting, crochet, and weaving.” I always have a great time when I go to YarnCon and there is free parking too! See the class schedule and sign up for classes here.

Hey, participating in Hookin’ on Hump Day on Moogly. Check it out.

This entry was posted in classes, crochet projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

