Vibraphone Yarn Bomb

vibesYbomb_0856

To celebrate the upcoming CD release party for my new CD Owls Calling I yarn bombed my vibes.

vibesYbomb_0863

Ok, you can see my house is cluttered. Note the Milt Jackson “Plenty Plenty Soul” record that just happens to be in the background!

To make this I used the pattern Rainbows and Daisies Square from the Zooty Owl blog. The designer is Zelina Oliver and this is a free pattern on her blog. Since I needed squares that are approximately 2.5″ in diameter I only worked the first 3 rows of her pattern. Using a 2.75 mm C hook and Noro Kureyon Sock yarn I got 3″ squares. Because Noro is thick and thin the size of the squares varied. I decided that’s ok, this is Noro after all.

After joining I used Patons Grace, a cotton yarn, to single crochet across the top of the squares and made chain loops to attach the strip around the posts of the vibes. I decided against single crocheting across the bottom because I think the squares will show up better this way.

If you are in the Chicago area you can check out my CD release party at the Green Mill on Monday October 19, 2015.

If you’d like to check out my CD or download tracks you can do that here.

Owls Calling package v2.indd

This entry was posted in crochet projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vibraphone Yarn Bomb

  1. I love your CD cover! (as well as the yarn bomb!) 😊

  2. I’m so glad to see how you yarn bombed your vibs. My parents were Jazz lovers. Story has it I learned to walk to Canadian sunset. Haha
    Two of my loves, crochet/fiber and jazz!!!
    How cool are youπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸŽ‰πŸŽŠ

  3. The colors are beautiful…I’m going to try and make it to the Green Mill…

Leave a Reply

