Summer Crafting

IMG_1387Going back to my childhood, summer has always been a time for crafting. Making stuff filled the days and staved off boredom. As an adult crafting is a mini-vacation from all the chores and duties of life.

I recently tested a pattern for Lara Oberman, known as DreamsinCrochet on Ravelry. My version of her Grackle pattern is shown above.  Beautiful in its simplicity, it’s worked starting at a corner of the triangle. The edging is worked last and stylishly decorates one side of the triangle. With one skein of fingering weight yarn from a local dyer I and was able to make a cute shawlette. The pattern is available from Ravelry here and includes two patterns, the Grackle and Lorikeet. Included are written instructions and good charts (which always make my crocheting so much easier). I’d like to make another larger one using scrap yarn, colors would stripe nicely on this. See my Ravelry project page for technical details.

Getting even more crafty I went bananas.

bananas_0714

When I saw this pattern on Ravelry I had to make one. Then I thought, what I am I going to do with this? Of course, make a cat toy. So I made another and stuffed it with catnip to send to an friend. The pattern is Amigurumi Banana and is available free on Zan Crochet. Details on my Ravelry project page.

Working on unfinished projects, I finished a cowl that I started in April for a class I was teaching at YarnCon on my TriTone Tunisian Cowl pattern. This one was made with leftovers of Cascade 220 and Shephards Wool.

tritone cowl 3_0760

Lastly, I finished a shawl using the free Sunspree One Skein Shawl pattern by Rebecca Velasquez.

another spree_1374

I used MJ Yarns Silken Lace instead of the DK weight called for. The pattern can be downloaded from the Ravelry pattern page. This is Lucky Cat. She arrived in December, starving. When we couldn’t find her owners she asked if we’d like to adopt her.

This entry was posted in crochet projects, original pattern designs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

