Heart Mania

grace-heart_1520

With valentines day coming up I got stuck on a heart kick. I found a free pattern, Heart Crochet Hot Pad, while searching patterns on Ravelry. The pattern calls for worsted weight cotton. In my first attempt, shown above, I used Patons Grace, a sport weight cotton. It’s pretty, but kind of large, about 6.5″ at its widest worked with a 2.75 mm hook.

heart-mania_1530

The hearts above are all done in size 10 cotton crochet thread except the very top heart, which is done in size 8 perle cotton. The pattern done in size 10 crochet cotton made a heart about 4.25″ wide using a 1.5 mm hook.

perle-heart_1535

The size 8 perle cotton, above, made a heart 3.25″ wide using a 1.25 mm hook.

pink-heart_1533

In the end I decided I liked this pattern in the size 10 cotton, above, the best. This one has an edging of variegated pinks.

The pattern has written instructions but no chart. Since I really like working from a chart I decided to draw my own. If you want to see the chart and more info. see my Ravelry project page.

I altered the edging slightly. In the second round of the edging I worked sc, ch 2, sc, into each chain space around. It gives it a little postage stamp edge. Thanks to Chalklegs on Ravelry for that neat idea.

This is a fun little project so if you’re interested I urge you to give it a try. And you might even want to try your hand at drawing a chart for this too.

 

 

This entry was posted in crochet projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

