Mandala Madness

Mandala madness_1656

Crochet mandalas have been gaining in popularity for the last few years and I finally caught the bug. After seeing so many bright and colorful mandalas on Ravelry I decided to try my hand at it. In the process I found a favorite designer, Sandra Eng.

All of the mandalas above are designed by Eng.

Puffs mandala_1665 - Version 2

This is the Puffs & Picots Mandala. It’s available as a free pattern on Sandra’s blog Mobiusgirldesign and includes a photo tutorial. If you’re thinking of making a mandala this is probably a good one to start with.

What I like about Eng’s designs is that they incorporate post stitches, puffs and other techniques to give the mandalas more texture. Some of these techniques fall into the intermediate level, but I think this one could be handled by an adventurous beginner.

Most of the mandala patterns I have seen call for sport weight or DK weight cotton yarn. In the U.S. this can be hard to come by, especially if you are looking for a yarn that comes in many colors. I used Patons Grace yarn, which comes in fairly many colors and can be found online or at some of the big chain craft stores.

The other two mandalas are from the book “Modern Crochet Mandalas: 50+ Colorful Motifs to Crochet”. Several designers are featured in the book but I find I am drawn to Eng’s designs. Shown in the top photo at lower left is the Fine China Mandala, and at top is the Rosette Mandala. You can find more information about my Puff & Picots Mandala and the other two mandalas by clicking on the titles to go to my Ravelry project pages.

I’ll share more details about these in a future post.

I hope you will be inspired to crochet a mandala.

 

 

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

