Mandala Madness 2, Texture

mandala madness two_1680

One thing many of my favorite mandala patterns have in common is texture. The bottom two mandalas in the photo above are examples of how nicely textured stitches work when using multiple colors.

This is the Mini Rosette Mandala designed by Sandra Eng. She uses overlay crochet to create the beautiful pattern.

rosette mandala 1660 - Version 2

When I finished making this I was surprised to see from the back that I was just making rounds of each color!

rosette mandala back_1664

The Mini Rosette Mandala was a great opportunity to learn a little about overlay crochet. I would say this is leaning towards the advanced level. Using front loop only, back loop only, and post stitches things seem a bit complicated. But if you know how to read your stitches it isn’t that difficult. With this one I also found the instructions a bit confusing in places. I used both the written instructions and the chart to sort things out and I’m very happy with the results. If you’d like to see my notes on the project visit my Ravelry project page here.

This is the Quandry Mandala designed by Sandra Eng. Incorporating puff stitches, clusters, post stitches and using chains that extend to previous rounds this mandala has a lot of visual interest.

quandary mandala

I had some issues with the Quandry Mandala which took a little figuring out. If you’d like to see my detailed notes check my Ravelry project page.

I used Patons Grace for both of these mandalas.

Both these patterns are from the book “Modern Crochet Mandalas, 50+ Colorful Motifs to Crochet”. I used the photos from the book for color inspiration.

I will have a book review in a future post so stay tuned.

You might want to check out Sandra Eng’s blog mobiusgirldesign.

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mandala Madness 2, Texture

  1. Becki says:

    Your mandalas are beautiful, Kathy.

Leave a Reply

