Finishing before the New Year

DSCF5513

My habit lately is to start a whole bunch of projects and then skip around between them, which means I don’t finish much. In the last week of the New Year I decided to focus and finish a few that I’ve had going for a long while.

The scarf above is based on a stitch pattern, open fan stitch, from the book Harmony Guides Vol. 6, 300 Crochet Stitches. The yarn is Misti Alpaca Hand Paint Sock Yarn and it’s a dream to work with. For more details see my Ravelry project page. (Notice the cardinal in the upper right hand corner of the above photo)

DSCF5470

The red scarf is based on the Luna Lovegood Scarf pattern by Jen Valure. I modified the pattern to make the scarf lay flat rather than ruffle. The Polaris yarn with sequins is perfect for a New Year’s celebration and it wasn’t hard to crochet with. The sequins are spaced far enough apart that you’re not always working over one. More technical details on my project page.

Why do I start yet another project? Because it promises to be a quick one.

A little teabag holder using scrap yarn, just an improvised pattern. It holds about 4 teabags.

DSCF5501

I will leave you with a link to a cute star pattern. This is great for practicing your puff stitches. A tip for making puff stitches, keep the yarn overs loose so that it’s easy to go back through the loops. The pattern is called Granny Star and is available for free on Ravelry.

DSCF5461

See my Ravelry project page for technical details.

Happy New Year.

This entry was posted in crochet projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finishing before the New Year

  1. Gorgeous – LOVE the open fan stitch scarf, and the yarn you used is yummy! =D

  2. Also letting you know I’ve ‘pinned’ your scarf on my crochet board on Pinterest:

    Hope it sends lots of admirers your way! =D

  3. janet says:

    Lovely scarves and I just can’t wait to do a teabag holder, to take my own teabags to work, great idea. Have a great New Year.

  4. Angie says:

    I’ve just discovered your blog and love it! You have some gorgeous crochet items which made me scroll down and look at older posts for even more scrummy projects!
    And I just love Louis! I have three ‘helpful’ cats myself!
    Angie x

  5. goose grass says:

    When googling “crochet flowers” I found your blog and ended up admiring your work. If only Berlin (Germany) was closer to Illinois I might be a student in your class to learn how to do the open fan stitch scarf 🙂

Leave a comment